Friday, April 25, 2014

Dr. R.R. Hanchinal, Chairperson of PPV&FR Authority

We informed to our readers (here) that Dr. P.L. Gautam was appointed as 2nd Hon’ble Chairperson of Protection of Plant Varieties and Farmers’ Rights Authority (PPV&FRA). In this post, we would like to inform about the successor of Dr. Gautam and present chairperson of the Authority.

In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (1) of Section 3 of the Protection of Plant Varieties and Farmers' Rights Act, 2001 (53 of 2001), the Central Government has issued notification (here) and appointed Dr. R.R. Hanchinal as Chairperson of the Authority. The Hon’ble Chairperson is appointed to fulfill the mandate of established authority under the PPV&FR Act, 2001. A brief profile of the chairperson can be seen here. He can be contacted here.

Plant Variety Protection will facilitate the growth of seed industry in the country which will ensure the availability of high quality seeds and planting material to farmers. We hope that more transparency will come in various procedures being followed by the Authority. We congratulate him and wish him a productive and fruitful time in his new assignment. We expect that his tenure will extend needful support to Indian farmer’s, private and public seed sector.

No comments: